Contains the tracks of the whole stage, including well developed sections but also parts of the route under development or at the planning stage.
Contains only parts of the stage which are either developed, developed with signs or certified – i.e. sections that are ready to cycle.
Your contribution helps towards keeping these official GPX tracks up-to-date and freely available to download.

While ECF and National EuroVelo Coordination Centers and Coordinators (NECC/Cs) make every effort to ensure the tracks and their levels of development are both current and accurate, errors or outdated information can occur. The user is fully responsible for his or her own safety when making use of the tracks and for following national traffic rules and signing. Please download and read the complete disclaimer before using the tracks.

With its stunning beaches and natural parks, Izmir Province is known in Türkiye as being the pearl of the Aegean. Indeed the Aegean Sea joins the Mediterranean Sea at the extreme end of the Karaburun Peninsula where the picturesque Sarpıncık Lighthouse is located. The Izmir section of EuroVelo 8 links the ports of Dikili and Çeşme and passes through 18 districts across Izmir Province. The general structure of the route is based on the interconnection of historical sites, ancient settlements and natural and cultural heritage. The route is 495 kilometers long and is ‘bookended’ by two very important ancient cities: Pergamon in the north and Ephesus in the south.

From Athens, you can take the ferry to Ayvalik (40 km from Dikili) via Mitilini Mytilene in Lesvos island. Dikili can then easily by reached by bus. Another alternative is the ferry to Çeşme via the island of Chios.